Late recognition of a discreet and seasoned politician

Prathapchandra Shetty, who was elected unopposed to the presidency of the Legislative Council, is one of the highest congressional leaders in Udupi District and has been a quiet politician who almost fled the limelight.

Mr. Shetty represented the constituency of the Kundapur Assembly in 1983, 1985, 1989 and 1994. However, he lost to BJP candidate Halady Srinivas Shetty in 1999.

He was elected three times MLC from the local constituencies of Udupi and Dakshina Kannada organs in 2003, 2009 and 2015. Although he could easily have become Siddaramaiah cabinet minister (2013-18) due to of his seniority among the legislators of the Udupi district and close to the top congressional leader, Oscar Fernandes, he never lobbied for that.

He fully cooperated with Vinay Kumar Sorake and Pramod Madhwaraj, when they became ministers, although they were younger than him. He also did not press for a cabinet post after the coming into power of the coalition government between Congress and Janata Dal (secular) in 2018.

Janardhan Tonse, chairman of the Udupi District Convention Committee, said L & # 39; Hindu that, when he (Mr. Tonse) issued a statement claiming that Mr. Shetty would be appointed minister, since he was the only legislator of the Congress in Udupi District after the elections at the 2018 Assembly, Mr. Shetty had reprimanded him.

Founder of Udupi Zilla Raitha Sangha, Mr. Shetty played a key role in farmers' problems, especially the slow pace of the Varahi irrigation project and the impact of K. Kasturirangan's project on the conservation of Western Ghats.

Although it has been MLC for about fifteen years, the fortune of the Congress of the Kundapur Assembly constituency has constantly plummeted.

No one in Udupi district had expected Mr. Shetty to be chosen for such an important constitutional post. As President of the Council, the spotlight will be on the rendezvous as it will strike a balance between the Treasury offices and those of the opposition.

"This is a long-awaited recognition for Mr. Shetty's sincerity, seniority and loyalty to the party," said Mr. Tonse.

Interestingly, Mr. Shetty and Kota Srinivas Poojary, Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council, both belong to the constituency of the Kundapur Assembly.